Poppy Paradise

As the poppy is my absolute favorite flower, it’s no real surprise that I am willing to make a trek for a glimpse of this treasure. Yesterday I hiked–a pilgrimage of sorts–in search of “the poppy fields”. My information of where to find them came from a most credible source, but even the best information can turn out to be less than current. 

What I found was remarkable…and caught me off guard!

Enjoy!

cropped-image5.jpg

The goal was many
a sea of red
one beauty indistinguishable from the next
reaching
quivering
swaying
one mighty rhythm

imageThe search persisted
blue sky, prized warmth
not one detected as smooth concrete
gave way to soil
rolling
stretching
beckoning
in graceful green

Then I saw her
exquisite, rare
bearer of hope
one is enough

image

Admiration
Exultation
Adulation
Celebration

image

^

She led to others
shimm’ring in kind
pairs, groups, smiling with abounding grace
fearing nothing
glowing
glistening
dancing
ebullient blush

 image

Search’s culmination
unequaled prize
radiant crimson, firmament blue
delicate, strong
standing
igniting
blessing
no need for more.

image

8 thoughts on “Poppy Paradise

  1. Enjoyed my time in the graceful greens, amidst your ebulliently blushing poppies under canopy of azure blue skies… Truly a poppy paradise in Julia’s field, pleasantly different from ‘Flanders Field’…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The simplest of finds can change to complexion of any day! What a beautiful surprise, indeed! This reminds me of some poppies I discovered on the freeway here where I live. On the freeway! They’ve never grown there again and that was several years ago.Luckily I had my camera with me that day and was able to capture a shot of them 🙂 Maybe they were there just for me and for just that short amount of time and for that one late spring…

    Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s wonderful, Jason! I love your ability to be aware in the moment! And, your camera captured that gift. A true artist’s spirit!
      Poppies appear so delicate but are remarkably resilient. Their courage to lavish beauty, yet entirely unpretentiously, is inspiring.
      I also realized how one doesn’t need abundance––vast numbers (as I’d expected). One truly is enough.
      Thanks so much for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

