today, if you don’t mind

image

she was petite
strong, wiry,
running nearly
before she walked.

Can I ride
those bumper cars?
How ’bout that bike
or figure skate
go on that
roller coaster?
No, dear.
Might get hurt.

she loved all food
sweet, spicy
eating whatever
she could find.

Can I have
that quesadilla?
Maybe that
piece of cake
corn dog
hamburger?
No, dear.
So unhealthy.

she’s always read,
even before
words meant anything
books were friends.

Can I go
to the book bus
library
book fair
author’s reading
book club?
No, dear.
Ideas are suspect.

she’s always loved
people
laughter
music and dance.

Can I sing
in the chorus
join the dance
troupe
find a
theater group?
No, dear.
The arts bend propriety.

she’s adored her Mam
since birth
playing, laughing, on
the go–together.

Can I go
to the movies,
get ice cream
sleepover
with Mam?
Be back early–promise.
No, dear.
Much too eccentric.

Then
she came of age.
No longer
thwarted by
restrictive
arbitrary
demand.

I’m going
to the State Fair
I’ll eat corn dogs
ride the
roller coaster,
catch
a matinee
and ice cream
with Mam
before going
dancing with
friends–

today, if you don’t mind.

© Julia Penner-Zook, 2015

10 thoughts on “today, if you don’t mind

  1. Wow! Julia…you brought back some strong memories for me…especially the ‘book bus!” I can remember how excited to be around a treasure trove of new books…and how I wanted to buy every single one of them!!! Some things never change!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

