Run Anyway

An Athletic woman jogging in the winter.

Runners pass me, twice my height
half my age!
…… Run anyway

Rather stay in bed, too bleak out
 it can wait ’till tomorrow!
…… Roll out anyway

Everywhere I turn, someone’s with a dog
I remember mine – gone –
…… Smile at them anyway

Holidays’ deep emotions, revealing simple beauty
or downright devastation!
…… Offer grace anyway

She’s promoted, he’s changed careers
can’t believe I’m still here!
…… Interview anyway

Don’t understand him, doesn’t look like me
what if he turns on me?
…… Extend a hand anyway

Social media bristles, spewing hate or fear
temptation’s there to add my bit –
…… Self-correct anyway

Some won’t read it, not interested
would rather go on – undisputed!
…… Be informed anyway

Wanna look away, change the channel
avert my gaze ’till all’s silent!
…… Pursue mercy anyway

What’s the use, it’s only words
in an age of turmoil, who still writes?
…… Write anyway

Runners taunt, flaunt new shoes,
much more speed, easy gait!
……Never mind –
………Stay the course –
………… Run anyway.

© Julia Penner-Zook, 2015
photo credit: i.huffpost.com

2 thoughts on “Run Anyway

I'd love to hear from you!

